‘Do not travel’ advisory issued for Mexican border condition of Tamaulipas

HARLINGEN, Texas (KVEO) — The U.S. Office of State’s Bureau of Consular Affairs has issued a “do not travel” advisory for Mexico’s border state of Tamaulipas.

“Crime and kidnapping” are cited on the advisory.

Structured criminal offense activity – like gun battles, murder, armed robbery, carjacking, kidnapping, forced disappearances, extortion, and sexual assault – is frequent together the northern border and in Ciudad Victoria. Legal groups focus on community and private passenger buses, as nicely as non-public cars traveling as a result of Tamaulipas, normally getting passengers and demanding ransom payments

The U.S. Section of Condition – Bureau of Consular Affairs Web page

The advisory also mentions greatly armed groups patrol places of Reynosa to Nuevo Laredo.

It adds legislation enforcement is more active in the place of Tampico, Ciudad Madero and Altamira. The tri-metropolis area has a decreased price of violence than the rest of the point out, stated the advisory.

United States govt employees can only journey to Nuevo Laredo and Tamaulipas all around and in between the U.S. Consulates in Nuevo Laredo and Matamoros, their properties, the respective U.S. Ports of Entry, and restricted downtown websites. They will have to also abide by the curfew in between midnight and 6 a.m.

“U.S. government staff members might not vacation concerning cities in Tamaulipas working with inside Mexican highways. Travel among Nuevo Laredo and Monterrey is restricted to Federal Freeway 85D in the course of daylight hours with prior authorization,” states the advisory.

To examine the complete listing of travel advisories in the place of Mexico, click below.

The “do not travel” advisory to the state of Tamaulipas also follows the Reynosa taking pictures that killed 15 bystanders.

The Linked Press reviews there have been 8 much more arrests in relationship to the capturing.

Other states below a ‘do not travel’ advisory contain Colima, Guerrero, Michoacan and Sinaloa.